[cgl_discussion] Announcing HotPlug SIG

Mary Edie Meredith maryedie at osdl.org
Tue Aug 10 09:27:31 PDT 2004


OSDL has decided to create a HotPlug Special Interest 
Group (SIG) that will be lead by Dr. Martine Silbermann, 
Principal Software Engineer, Linux Open Source Lab, HP.

The HotPlug SIG's goal is to identify and resolve HotPlug 
related technical inhibitors to Linux adoption in the Data 
Center, Desk Top, or Carrier Grade usage models.  Initially 
the group will examine what role OSDL can play beyond the 
activities already underway.  They plan to investigate 
HotPlug CPU, memory, IO subsystem, and node support.

OSDL SIGs are open to all community members with no paper 
work involved.  Please invite developers who would be 
interested to join in this effort with OSDL members.   

A kickoff conference call will be held Tuesday, August 17, 
11am Pacific (2pm Eastern, 18:00 UTC).  Phone information:
888-566-8440 (toll free), 719-785-4400 (toll), Passcode: 830470.
Regular bi-monthly calls are planned currently, the date and
time to be confirmed at the kickoff meeting. 

The HotPlug SIG mail list is hotplug_sig at lists.osdl.org.  
Sign up for the mail list at:
http://lists.osdl.org/mailman/listinfo/hotplug_sig


-- 
Mary Edie Meredith
Data Center Linux Roadmap Coordinator 
maryedie at osdl.org
503-626-2455 x42
Open Source Development Labs




More information about the cgl_discussion mailing list