[Linux-kernel-mentees] [PATCH v2 02/15] scsi: aacraid: use generic power management

Balsundar.P at microchip.com Balsundar.P at microchip.com
Thu Jul 23 06:58:49 UTC 2020


Acked-by: Balsundar P < balsundar.p at microchip.com>

-----Original Message-----
From: Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40 at gmail.com> 
Sent: Monday, July 20, 2020 19:04
To: Bjorn Helgaas <helgaas at kernel.org>; Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas at google.com>; Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn at helgaas.com>; Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhav.varodek at gmail.com>; Adam Radford <aradford at gmail.com>; James E.J. Bottomley <jejb at linux.ibm.com>; Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen at oracle.com>; Adaptec OEM Raid Solutions <aacraid at microsemi.com>; Hannes Reinecke <hare at suse.com>; Bradley Grove <linuxdrivers at attotech.com>; John Garry <john.garry at huawei.com>; Don Brace <don.brace at microsemi.com>; James Smart <james.smart at broadcom.com>; Dick Kennedy <dick.kennedy at broadcom.com>; Kashyap Desai <kashyap.desai at broadcom.com>; Sumit Saxena <sumit.saxena at broadcom.com>; Shivasharan S <shivasharan.srikanteshwara at broadcom.com>; Sathya Prakash <sathya.prakash at broadcom.com>; Sreekanth Reddy <sreekanth.reddy at broadcom.com>; Suganath Prabu Subramani <suganath-prabu.subramani at broadcom.com>; Jack Wang <jinpu.wang at cloud.ionos.com>
Cc: Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40 at gmail.com>; Shuah Khan <skhan at linuxfoundation.org>; linux-kernel at vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel-mentees at lists.linuxfoundation.org; linux-scsi at vger.kernel.org; esc.storagedev at microsemi.com; megaraidlinux.pdl at broadcom.com; MPT-FusionLinux.pdl at broadcom.com
Subject: [PATCH v2 02/15] scsi: aacraid: use generic power management

EXTERNAL EMAIL: Do not click links or open attachments unless you know the content is safe

With legacy PM hooks, it was the responsibility of a driver to manage PCI states and also the device's power state. The generic approach is to let the PCI core handle the work.

PCI core passes "struct device*" as an argument to the .suspend() and
.resume() callbacks.

Driver was using PCI helper functions like pci_save/restore_state(), pci_disable/enable_device(), pci_set_power_state() and pci_enable_wake().
They should not be invoked by the driver.

Compile-tested only.

Signed-off-by: Vaibhav Gupta <vaibhavgupta40 at gmail.com>
---
 drivers/scsi/aacraid/linit.c | 34 ++++++++--------------------------
 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 26 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/scsi/aacraid/linit.c b/drivers/scsi/aacraid/linit.c index a308e86a97f1..1e44868ee953 100644
--- a/drivers/scsi/aacraid/linit.c
+++ b/drivers/scsi/aacraid/linit.c
@@ -1910,11 +1910,9 @@ static int aac_acquire_resources(struct aac_dev *dev)

 }

-#if (defined(CONFIG_PM))
-static int aac_suspend(struct pci_dev *pdev, pm_message_t state)
+static int __maybe_unused aac_suspend(struct device *dev)
 {
-
-       struct Scsi_Host *shost = pci_get_drvdata(pdev);
+       struct Scsi_Host *shost = dev_get_drvdata(dev);
        struct aac_dev *aac = (struct aac_dev *)shost->hostdata;

        scsi_host_block(shost);
@@ -1923,29 +1921,16 @@ static int aac_suspend(struct pci_dev *pdev, pm_message_t state)

        aac_release_resources(aac);

-       pci_set_drvdata(pdev, shost);
-       pci_save_state(pdev);
-       pci_disable_device(pdev);
-       pci_set_power_state(pdev, pci_choose_state(pdev, state));
-
        return 0;
 }

-static int aac_resume(struct pci_dev *pdev)
+static int __maybe_unused aac_resume(struct device *dev)
 {
-       struct Scsi_Host *shost = pci_get_drvdata(pdev);
+       struct Scsi_Host *shost = dev_get_drvdata(dev);
        struct aac_dev *aac = (struct aac_dev *)shost->hostdata;
-       int r;

-       pci_set_power_state(pdev, PCI_D0);
-       pci_enable_wake(pdev, PCI_D0, 0);
-       pci_restore_state(pdev);
-       r = pci_enable_device(pdev);
+       device_wakeup_disable(dev);

-       if (r)
-               goto fail_device;
-
-       pci_set_master(pdev);
        if (aac_acquire_resources(aac))
                goto fail_device;
        /*
@@ -1960,10 +1945,8 @@ static int aac_resume(struct pci_dev *pdev)
 fail_device:
        printk(KERN_INFO "%s%d: resume failed.\n", aac->name, aac->id);
        scsi_host_put(shost);
-       pci_disable_device(pdev);
        return -ENODEV;
 }
-#endif

 static void aac_shutdown(struct pci_dev *dev)  { @@ -2108,15 +2091,14 @@ static struct pci_error_handlers aac_pci_err_handler = {
        .resume                 = aac_pci_resume,
 };

+static SIMPLE_DEV_PM_OPS(aac_pm_ops, aac_suspend, aac_resume);
+
 static struct pci_driver aac_pci_driver = {
        .name           = AAC_DRIVERNAME,
        .id_table       = aac_pci_tbl,
        .probe          = aac_probe_one,
        .remove         = aac_remove_one,
-#if (defined(CONFIG_PM))
-       .suspend        = aac_suspend,
-       .resume         = aac_resume,
-#endif
+       .driver.pm      = &aac_pm_ops,
        .shutdown       = aac_shutdown,
        .err_handler    = &aac_pci_err_handler,
 };
--
2.27.0



More information about the Linux-kernel-mentees mailing list