[lsb-discuss] [Printing-summit] Google Summer of Code 2008: Application period for mentoring organizations: March 3-12

Till Kamppeter till.kamppeter at gmail.com
Thu Feb 28 15:35:21 PST 2008


Jeff Licquia wrote:
> Till Kamppeter wrote:
>> As agreed with Jeff Licquia, the Linux Foundation will enter as one 
>> mentoring organization, with projects from all workgroups, especially 
>> also LSB.
> 
> [...]
> 
>> Should we schedule a conference call about the application for the 
>> Google Summer of Code?
> 
> We probably should. 

I suggest Wed March 5, 9pm CET (3pm Eastern, noon Pacific). This was the 
time when we had regular meetings of the OpenPrinting workgroup.

> As it turns out, it seems likely that OpenPrinting 
> will have far more GSoC projects than LSB will have; there's even the 
> possibility that the LSB will have none.
> 
> So we should decide how we will coordinate the LF GSoC application as a 
> mentoring organization in order to ensure maximum success.

If there is at least one non-OpenPrinting project, the mentoring 
organization will be the Linux Foundation, otherwise it should perhaps 
better be OpenPrinting.

According to our GSoC page

https://www.linux-foundation.org/en/Google_Summer_of_Code

there are non-OpenPrinting projects.

We should also have a look at

http://code.google.com/soc/2008/faqs.html#0.1_org_apply

and answer all these 17 questions in the list, so that we can submit the 
application in time and so that we have good chances to be accepted.

I could do the admin's or backup admin's job as OpenPrinting is one of 
the main contributors of projects. I will also be mentor of some of my 
suggested projects.

We also need to do some more detailed project descriptions to be more 
attractive to students applying for a project.

So let's prepare our application.

    Till



More information about the lsb-discuss mailing list