[lsb-discuss] [Printing-summit] Google Summer of Code 2008: Application period for mentoring organizations: March 3-12

Till Kamppeter till.kamppeter at gmail.com
Fri Feb 29 13:19:05 PST 2008


Jeff Licquia wrote:
> Till Kamppeter wrote:
>> I suggest Wed March 5, 9pm CET (3pm Eastern, noon Pacific). This was 
>> the time when we had regular meetings of the OpenPrinting workgroup.
> 
> Any time early next week is bad for me, and probably for Ted and Markus, 
> too; we'll be in Santa Clara, California, meeting with ISVs.
> 
> I get back Thursday morning (Eastern) after a red-eye.  Or, we can do it 
> before Monday.
> 

Before Monday is too late, Friday is already ending here in Europe. So 
lets do it Thursday, US morning, European afternoon. 10am Pacific? Ira 
what were your free slots on Thursday? If this does not work, lets do it 
on Friday.

Ira, or should we open the next OpenPrinting Steering Comittee Meeting 
to the LF and LSB folks as coordination meeting (Monday 3 March 2008, 
3pm Pacific, 6pm Eastern, Tue 12am Berlin, Tue 8am Japan) for the GSoC 
mentoring organization application of the Linux Foundation? And then 
perhaps do a real OP SC meeting the week after?

>> If there is at least one non-OpenPrinting project, the mentoring 
>> organization will be the Linux Foundation, otherwise it should perhaps 
>> better be OpenPrinting.
> 
> I'm cool with that.
> 
>> According to our GSoC page
>>
>> https://www.linux-foundation.org/en/Google_Summer_of_Code
>>
>> there are non-OpenPrinting projects.
> 
> Some of those may not end up being so, but I think we have at least one 
> to propose.
> 
>> We should also have a look at
>>
>> http://code.google.com/soc/2008/faqs.html#0.1_org_apply
>>
>> and answer all these 17 questions in the list, so that we can submit 
>> the application in time and so that we have good chances to be accepted.
>>
>> I could do the admin's or backup admin's job as OpenPrinting is one of 
>> the main contributors of projects. I will also be mentor of some of my 
>> suggested projects.
>>
>> We also need to do some more detailed project descriptions to be more 
>> attractive to students applying for a project.
> 
> Yup.  Not sure who should be the LF caretaker, but perhaps it should be 
> you and I.  Who is admin, and who is backup, isn't a big deal to me.
> 
> 

As OpenPrinting makes up the majority I will do the admin and Jeff, you 
will do the backup. OK?

    Till



More information about the lsb-discuss mailing list